Friday Five: Intern Mike’s 5 takeaways

Today I turn over the Friday Five reins to Intern Mike.

It’s the final day of Mike’s internship in our department, and boy are we going to miss him. He’s done a lot of work for us over the past couple of months. He’s led focus groups, conducted and analyzed market surveys, carried heavy stuff for us sedentary office drones, worked with a TV crew and presidential campaign PR guys, and provided entertainment and a fresh perspective.

I asked Mike to share with readers his five internship takeaways before he makes his getaway, so here they are. By the way, after today, Intern Mike will be MBA Mike, and if you’re looking for a talented market researcher with a solid work ethic, he’s your man. Drop me a line and I’ll put you in touch with him.

The five things I’ve learned during my marketing internship at Missouri S&T
By Intern Mike

These are in no particular order, this is just a reflection.

  • How slow everything is in higher education
    I’m not sure why this is happening, but being in a restaurant my whole life; things can be changed on a dime. We don’t have to go through so many committees, meetings, etc. Maybe higher ed should be run like a private business.
  • The many details of branding
    This may sound odd, since I want to be in brand management, but I did not realize the detail that was involved in keeping a brand consistent. I looked at many different schools’ standards for logos, letterhead, business cards, etc., and couldn’t believe how detailed it was. Cornell Rutgers has a 110-page pdf that details everything down to the millimeter. Impressive.
  • How to film a TV mini-series and work on a presidential campaign
    Well not exactly, but I did get to set up a set for the Discovery Channel, assist during production and filming. Obama came to Rolla and I played bouncer/secret agent man. I was even interviewed for an alumni DVD. Next step, Hollywood.
  • How to perform research using focus groups and surveys
    This is a skill I will take with me working in marketing. It was a great experience learning how to conduct, moderate, and analyze focus group results.
  • How to convey information in reports and presentations
    From using the right tables, to bar and column charts. I now pay more attention to detail when writing a report, making a presentation, and even emailing. I rewrite everything a lot more now, especially these five things I’ve learned during my internship.

Good words, Mike, and congratulations on the MBA. Now go out there and change the world.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

5 thoughts on “Friday Five: Intern Mike’s 5 takeaways”

  1. Congrats, Mike! Very good points, indeed. Thank you for sharing it, Andrew.

    Your observation about the slow pace of academic change is particularly humorous to read. I can just imagine how many in the ‘academy’ will react to that suggestion. Just duck and cover, Mike.

    This sounds like a wonderful internship, Andrew. May I apply? :o) Truly great experiences, Mike.

    Oh, and Mike … *please* give us a link to that Cornell 110-page pdf. I’m searching for it, but coming up dry. It will get the attention of some students I know when discussing planning out a style guide and brand management campaign. ;o)

  2. Oops. My apologizes. I believe when I was writing this to Andy, I was on the Cornell website.

    Andy, Can we edit that? :)

Leave a Reply

