Catching up with Karine

Like so many bloggers and web-connected folks, Karine Joly is battling the info-glut. “It has become more and more difficult to keep up with all the interesting initiatives, discussions and happenings taking place in higher ed,” she writes. I think we can all relate.

So Karine is taking a new approach: A weekly “catch-up” post of links to worthwhile and relevant finds. Her first such post includes a wealth of info. You should budget some time in your schedule to check it out.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

7 thoughts on “Catching up with Karine”

  1. I’ve been thinking along the same lines lately.

    One of the problems I have is that I send out links to other potentially interested parties (via e-mail usually), but then I’ll find out other people would be interested as well.

    My current thinking is to start a dedicated weblog, probably with the same weekly-ish update frequency, with an aggregation of links. I’m just not sure yet if it should be along a chronological line (here’s what’s neat this week), or a more topical line (here’s all the neat links in the last few months on topic X).

    I’ve been buffering up a couple weeks worth of links along these lines to see which way is better.

  2. Weekly links are a good thing. Five for Friday is always a good thing and if I remember right there is some other blog out there that does a weekly linkage post? Can’t remember the name of that site though?…

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The poster sent us ‘1797311816 which is not a hashcash value.

  3. Hmmmm, Kyle – let me think just a minute. I know I’ve heard of another site that does the weekly link thing — ah, yes. I believe the site is called dot-edu guru. Does that ring a bell?

    Eric – For simple link-sharing, there’s always Delicious.

Leave a Reply

