Join me on Facebook’s blog network

Who knew Facebook had a blog network? Not I, until I read about it on Karlyn Morissette’s blog. So I quickly signed up this blog. If you’re on Facebook and want to follow higher ed marketing on that social network, just clicky clicky and install the app.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

12 thoughts on “Join me on Facebook’s blog network”

  1. I spent about 20 seconds setting one up, then deleted myself from it.95% of people in higher ed that I am ‘friends’ with on Facebook have met me through my blog or twitter. Seems redundant to me.

    The larger story I think you could have covered here is how Facebook will now become the ‘Google Reader’ of millenials. Chew on that for a second. Subscribing to blogs, getting their news pulled right into Facebook. What’s next? Browser inside of Facebook? (Seriously…)

  2. The larger story I think you could have covered here is how Facebook will now become the ‘Google Reader’ of millenials. Chew on that for a second.

    Yum…a bit gamey, but tasty. But seriously, your point is well taken. If Facebook becomes that kind of portal (not the best word, I know) for millennials, then so be it. But why not be out there as well as on Twitter, the blog world, Friendfeed (which I’m NOT on, for no apparent reason), etc.?

    Many of my higher ed Facebook contacts have also come from my blog, Twitter, and real-world connections via my work with CASE, Academic Impressions, etc. (as well as campus and UM system friends).

    And yeah, I could have written more about this, but I was on my way out the door to an appointment with my optometrist, so I was in kind of a rush. My eyes are STILL dilated and I probably shouldn’t even be on the computer right now.

  3. Brad I think your missing the point.

    “It’s not about you it’s about your visitors”

    If your visitors wants to receive blog updates through facebook then who are we not to provide that for them? You ever heard of the user experience? The more options you can give people to get your content the better and that doesn’t even take into consideration the SEO, exposure, etc reasons to do it.

    Count me in, I’m going to join your Facebook blog group now.

  4. My friend Waleed Abdullah created Blog Networks, and he’d be honored you all are excited about it.

    I don’t believe that Facebook will ever be a “google reader.” All of the different places to connect on the web are just that: places to connect. Just like in real life, you connect in some places for some things and others for other things. No biggie. You just have to remember to go get Vitamin D.

  5. “95% of people in higher ed that I am ‘friends’ with on Facebook have met me through my blog or twitter. Seems redundant to me.”

    this is like saying “my friends and i already hang out on the street corner. a park seems redundant.”

Leave a Reply

