Friday Five: Is it 2009 already?

I don’t know about you, but I’m still digging out from 2008, and 2009 is already kicking my butt. I’ve barely had time to skim my RSS feeds or play on Twitter. But this morning I found these year-end links of interest that I’d planned to post earlier just gathering dust in my RSS reader, so I thought I’d better share them with you before much more of the shiny newness wore off of them.

  • The world’s smallest snake, a prehistoric ant and microbes that may be 120,000 years old all made Wired’s list of the top 10 new organisms for 2008.
  • Econcierge, mapmania, luxyoury and three more consumer trends to watch in 2009, via Trendwatching.
  • 17 ways to find blogworthy topics, via Lois Kelly’s Bloghound. And here’s one more for you: Do a Friday Five or Thursday Three every once in a while. It’s salvation for the brain-dead blogger.
  • What [in tech] will sell in 2009? is GigaOM‘s summary of a Wall Street Journal discussion with some top tech people.
  • Steve Rubel’s pick for top website of 2008. Hint: It wasn’t this one.
  • Bonus link: Lifehacker’s most discussed posts of 2008.
  • Advertisements

    Author: andrewcareaga

    Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

    Leave a Reply

    