The edublogger economic stimulus package

Online College Edu Blogger Scholarship ContestNote: this is NOT my official entry into the College Edu Blogger Scholarship Contest, but I stuck the badge on this post merely to help direct people to the information. If you click, on the badge, you should know that it might give me an unfair advantage in the contest. I’m not sure, because I didn’t read the rules that closely. Anyway, click if you want to. Or not. I’ll compose my entry later.

If any of my fellow higher ed bloggers got into blogging because they thought it would be a lucrative gig, it didn’t take long for them to find out otherwise.

Even the A-list are discovering that the financial payoff for the hours they spend blogging just isn’t there. (Daniel Lyons, who attained blogfame as the Fake Steve Jobs, admitted that “while blogs can do many wonderful things, generating huge amounts of money isn’t one of them.”)

So it warms my jaded heart to see Karine Joly‘s announcement today that she, working with Online College and a couple of other higher ed bloggers, will give away a total of $2,500 in scholarships to some three lucky higher ed bloggers.

So while the rest of the world awaits U.S. President Barack Obama’s signature on the gargantuous stimulus package today, Karine Joly and Online College acted swiftly to bring the edublogger economic stimulus package to us.

OK, it really isn’t as easy as that. no trickle-down, everybody-gets-a-slice social engineering here. It’s all about competition and creativity, social Darwinism at its finest. There are rules and requirements. This is a scholarship, after all. Rather than try to explain all the rules in this space, I’ll just direct you to the OC site, where you can get the scoop. The contest is open until March 17 — St. Patrick’s Day — so get cracking and maybe you’ll find that mythical pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Good luck.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

9 thoughts on “The edublogger economic stimulus package”

  1. Obviously I’m rather cynical about this contest, because it isn’t about blogging. It isn’t about content. It’s about how many visitors you can refer to their site. While I’m sure that Karine, Matt and Stewart have the best intentions as judges, the whole thing leaves a rather sour taste in my mouth.

  2. I wish I could get free money to give away for the sake and the beauty of good blogging, but we live in a material world – everything is give and take.

    I came up with the contest idea to try to get a win-win situation for all parties involved.

    Believe it or not, but the original idea was to do a public voting, but everybody knows that the ones who usually win those (for bloghighed picks for example) are the ones doing a pretty good job at promoting themselves – so, why not make the first step a real popularity contest?

    20 folks would be selected out of this first step and then it will be all about blogging and the quality of their posts.

    Come on, Karlyn, the rules aren’t perfect, but not so bad either… … especially when you get 2 chances to win $500 by just participating (although it’s true that luck isn’t a better guarantee of good blogging ;-)

  3. I knew nothing about the contest until I saw Karlyn’s post. I earned my undergraduate online after the military, but not before spending time at a bunch of ‘traditional’ schools. It’s quite a story…

    …but I don’t know if I want to pull out the self-promotion guns on this one or not. Probably not.

  4. Nice way to get around paying for inbound links to that OC site. That’s all this is – a method to get lots of authority inbound links with Online College keyword text.

  5. That’s why I called it a “win-win situation” not a “philantropic venture,” but you definitely know the difference, Brad, now that you’ve crossed over to the dark side of consulting ;-)

    Have a safe trip to Singapour, BTW, you might want to include something about QR codes – see Mike Richwalsky’s post – in your presentation. (and no, I’m not on a mission to promote Mike’s blog on Andy’s – Just thought it could be useful ;-)

  6. The above comment was not me. I always sign with full name. Just getting caught up on blogs from today and saw this. Just an FYI!

  7. Well, I owe you an apology, Bradjward (although I stand by my point, the other Brad) – it’s been a bit tough today on this blogger, didn’t expect this kind of reactions.

    So, please accept my apologies, Bradjward.

    Hope you check out Mike’s blog post though as QR codes are definitely relevant to Asian Millennials.

  8. @Karine – The irony of the whole thing is if the whole thing had been an altruistic contest, instead of one framed around promoting this site, it probably would have done MORE good for the site. It’s a concept called reciprocity – we as humans feel an obligation to give back when we are given something with no strings attached. I would honestly have preferred a public voting. As it is, you have a “popularity” section. Plus, higher ed blogs don’t necessarily have to be in BlogHighEd to be popular – when I got added, it hardly drove any new traffic to my site (and still continues to be only a minor referral today).

    As it is, I am well aware that I’ve probably taken myself out of the running for anything for calling this thing out for what it is – a purely promotional effort, quality of post be damned (and I do think I did a damn good post). If you have a blogging contest, the whole thing should be about BLOGGING. Not part of it. The whole thing.

  9. No, you haven’t taken you out of the contest by expressing an opinion about it. The judges will be totally independent in their choice among the 20 who go through the first phase.

    It’s a blogging scholarship contest – the goal is to be able to give some money to support 3 members of this deserving hard working bunch that edu bloggers are.

    Frankly, I couldn’t ask Matt and Stewart to review 100s of blog posts, so we had to find a way to select a few.

    I didn’t mean that higher ed blogs had to be in BlogHighEd to be popular, I was just taking BHE as an example of a public voting (elections are also a good example of a popularity contest, too).

    There are several ways to determine “popularity” – be it by public voting or by traffic stats, subscribers #, commenters #, followers #, etc. – in one case you vote by clicking on a button in the other on a badge. If it were a button, participants would probably ask readers to go to the website to vote.

    Again, I’ve just tried to come up with a way to get something nice for the community from the sponsor – and if you think about it, this is kind of nice even if it “costs” the participants a link and a bit of work promoting their respective contest post.

    Don’t know if you got it, but I received an email last week for a contest (Chapeau Blogging Awards) with a grand prize of $2K to win – but if you wanted to play you had to pay a $50 entry fee.

    As for the economic stimulus package, the money has to come from somewhere (and there are always strings attached even in the most altruistic venture as your posts on eduguru told us this morning).

Leave a Reply

