Post-op playlist: tunes to heal by

Update, 2/21/09: I made it through surgery just fine, and this morning’s post-op checkup showed my left eye is now seeing with 20/30 vision. That’s much better than the 20/150 vision I went in with. As for yesterday’s playlist, I tuned in to some new albums by Asobi Seksu and M. Ward, but also went back to some old standards: London Calling, by the Clash (best album ever); More Songs About Buildings and Food, by Talking Heads; Rubber Soul, by the Beatles (Joe’s suggestion of “I’m Looking Through You” prompted me to pick that one); Armed Forces, by Elvis Costello & the Attractions (Ron, I happen to like Elvis C.’s singing style, and his early work); and Neon Bible, by Arcade Fire. Off to rest my eyes and listen to more good music.

Tomorrow morning I go in for cataract surgery (yes, I know I’m too young to have cataracts, but they’re there, and yes, diabetes is a bitch).

While it’s a quick procedure (and painless, I’m assured), it means I won’t be able to do much with my eyes for a couple of days. Which means: no blogging, no reading, no watching television. No Friday Five manana.

But I will have a lot of time to listen to music on Friday and Saturday. This morning I downloaded a couple of new albums so that I would have something fresh to listen to. But I’m also thinking about pulling out some old favorites I haven’t listened to in ages. A couple of Talking Heads albums come to mind as potential post-op plays (77 and More Songs About Buildings and Food). I’ll probably be in the mood for fairly mellow tunes, so furious punk is out. Ergo, no Ramones (possible exception: “I Wanna Be Sedated”).

If I’m already heavily sedated, I might turn to something dream-inducing, like Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon or Radiohead’s In Rainbows or Blonde Redhead’s 23, or maybe something more ambient, like Aphex Twin, will be in order.

One thing is for certain. for my pre-op playlist, I won’t be listening to any of these:

“Doctor My Eyes,” by Jackson Browne

“Blinded By the Light,” by Bruce Springsteen or Manfred Mann’s Earth Band

“Debaser,” by the Pixies (the song references that well-known Luis Bunuel/Salvador Dali short film Un Chien Andalou, which features the slitting of eyeballs)

Anything from Tommy, but especially “See Me, Feel Me”

“Far Away Eyes,” by the Rolling Stones

“Crosseyed and Painless,” by Talking Heads (although I like the “painless” idea)

Maybe I should just settle on listening to everything in my collection by Bright Eyes.

What are your suggestions for good post-op music? Leave your suggestions below, as well as your good vibrations. Hey! There’s an idea…

//omnivore.us/blog/2008/04/25/making-album-cover-collages-in-picasa/)
A sample of album covers from my collection, created via Picasa. I got the idea from Ron Bronson (see http://omnivore.us/blog/2008/04/25/making-album-cover-collages-in-picasa/)
Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

18 thoughts on “Post-op playlist: tunes to heal by”

  1. First, good luck with the surgery. Hope it all goes well.

    I Am Vision, I Am Sound – Bob Mould
    Gypsy Eyes – Jimi Hendrix
    A Pair of Brown Eyes – The Pogues
    Suddenly I See – KT Tunstall
    See No Evil – Television

    I’ll stop now, seriously. Again, good luck.

  2. Good luck, Andrew. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Here are some suggestions:

    The Who, I Can See for Miles
    Grateful Dead, Eyes of the World
    The Beatles, I’m Looking Through You
    The Beatles, I’ve Just Seen a Face
    The Beatles, You Won’t See Me
    Loggins and Messina, Angry Eyes

  3. Best of luck!

    Rolling Stones: Wild Horses, Shattered, Faraway Eyes
    Beatles, obladi oblada, Ballad of John & Yoko
    Sarah McLachlan, Ice Cream

  4. I think you should listen to the entire Eagles Box Set so you can have an opportunity to revise you narrow minded opinion of them being the worst band of the 70s.

  5. Dry Your Eyes, The Band
    Close Your Eyes, Bebel Gilberto
    Mingus Eyes, Richard Thompson
    Smoke Gets in Your Eyes, Gaetano Veloso
    Suite Judy Blue Eyes: Crosby, Stills & Nash
    I’ve Got My Eyes on You, Dianne Reeves
    Star Eyes, Charlie Parker
    Brown Eyed Girl, Van Morrison

  6. Great suggestions, all! (Well, except for the Grateful Dead and Eagles. What can I say? I’m a philistine.) Appreciate all the happy thoughts and good vibes. Keep the suggestions coming.

    It’s also funny to see the selections. Some of them are dead giveaways to your age. *coffMichaelStonercoff*

  7. Good luck with the surgery.

    I have cataracts, too — a lovely residual from a series of concussions I’ve suffered over the last 10 years.

    Makes for wonderful days at the computer for a College in Canada. Make sure you give us post-surgery news, eh?

  8. “I can see clearly now” -Jimmy Cliff….you had to know that was coming!

    “Cupid shuffle” – Cupid or “Starry eyed surprise” – Oakenfold (songs for when you do the happy dance now that you can see)

  9. Meg and Mary Helen, now I’m conflicted about which version of “I Can See Clearly Now” to listen to. johnny Nash wrote it, Jimmy Cliff improved upon iit. But maybe the Eagle-Eye Cherry cover would be the most appropriate, given the name of the band.

  10. I am 32 and just had cataract surgery last Friday myself! It was SO quick and I felt ZERO pain. Good luck and just remember how amazing your eye sight will be afterwards!

  11. Good luck with the surgery. I’ll be praying for you.

    The best post-op “music?” Silence. Get a lot of sleep and rest in peace and quiet :)

  12. Again, thanks to everyone for their playlist suggestions and well wishes. Keep ’em coming (except for those Grateful Dead recommendations — sorry, no offense, just can’t take it, no matter how medicated I may be).

  13. Ok, a random list of stuff: (all LPs)

    Jenny Owen Youngs – Batten The Hatches
    The Pains of Being Pure At Heart – eponymous
    Iran – Dissolver (the bassist from TV on the Radio is in this band)
    Beirut – March of the Zapotec & Realpeople: Holland
    Thursday – Common Existence
    …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead – The Century of Self
    Emiliana Torrini – Fisherman’s Woman (tracks: Nothing Brings Me Down, Today Has Been Okay, Thinking Out Loud)

    That should keep you busy for a few weeks. Hang in there, pal.

  14. Two more that I just thought of that aren’t new releases (all of those above but Jenny Owen Youngs are LPs released in the past month)

    Check out:

    Stew – The Naked Dutch Painter and Other Songs
    Probably one of the better songwriters out there.

    Elvis Costello & Bert Bachrach – Painted from Memory
    I realize EC has a voice that makes you think “gee, how did this guy make it singing for a living” but the album is one of the more underrated ones out there in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

