It’s an honor just to be nominated

Voting is now closed. Thanks for your support!

In my haste to unplug (mostly) for an extended weekend, I forgot to mention that I’ve been nominated to be an International Brand Master, a competition sponsored by Educational Marketing Group as part of EMG’s Brand Managers Summit 2009.

I’m one of three finalists for the distinction. I’m up against Catherine “Punky” Scruggs of Strayer University and Jenny Beckman-Wong of RMIT in Australia. You have until 6 p.m. EDT Wednesday, July 8, to cast your vote.

If I weren’t in the running, I’d vote for anyone nicknamed “Punky” in a heartbeat. No disrespect to Jenny Beckman-Wong. That a nickname would influence my decision is just an indication of how shallow and uninformed a voter I am. So I am doing the right thing and abstaining.

I’d be lying to say I don’t care who wins. But also, as the headline says, it’s an honor just to be nominated.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

6 thoughts on “It’s an honor just to be nominated”

  1. Congrats Andy – now if you could just win that guitar, your summer would be set! Best of luck – much deserved.

    Best,
    S

  2. Now wait: brand confusion between Andrew “Punk” Careaga and someone named Punky? Oh, I get it: she’s a *woman.* Clears things up for me. Congratulations, and how many times can I vote for you?

Leave a Reply

