To drive traffic, tweet and repeat

I used to think it was bad form to repeat my tweets about blog posts or other information I wanted to get out to the twitterverse. But Guy Kawasaki (@guykawasaki) says it’s okay to repeat your tweet — if you want to drive more traffic to your blog, website or whatever you’re linking to.

Kawasaki tested this theory that repeat tweets bring more traffic, and whaddyaknow, it works! For Guy Kawasaki, anyway. (More on that later.)

In his first experiment, Kawasaki repeated a single tweet four times, eight hours apart. Although the original tweet brought more traffic than the others, “the next three still yielded very good results.”

In his next experiment, he tweeted a post with link daily for nine consecutive days, with results similar to the first experiment.

Let’s assume that I had listened to the dogma and tweet either of these just once. (This would be based on the delusion that every follower of mine read every tweet every day, so repetition is unnecessary if not impolite.) This assumption would have cost me 3,000 to 4,000 fewer clickthroughs.

To which I can only say:

3,000 to 4,000 fewer clickthroughs!? zOMG.

There’s a reason he’s Guy Kawasaki and I’m not.

But, maybe his theory holds water for those of us who have Twitter presences followed by fewer than the 164,000-plus in Kawasaki’s posse. I get the feeling that too many repeated tweets, too close together, would lead to a drop in followership.

Still, it’s not always about the numbers of followers. It’s about quality, right?

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

7 thoughts on “To drive traffic, tweet and repeat”

  1. Andrew, like you, I am receiving a fraction of the traffic that Guy gets, but I’ve found this to be true. In fact, it seems that my second tweet gets more traffic and RTs than my first one. It may have something to do with the timing of the tweet. Remember, the sun never sets on the twitterverse. It may also have to do with me creating a better headline the second time around. I’m just not sure.

    Regarding tweeting more than once to your followers? I make sure that I’m tweeting other content almost all of the time. My own blog tweets represent a fraction of what I tweet. And when I do tweet the blog, I make sure I tweet a bunch of other stuff that day before and after.

  2. Rick – Great observations. You’re right that the twitterverse is always on, so repeating the tweet at intervals may be as important in this sphere as the repeat stories on Headline News is to their audience.

    Good point on tweeting other stuff before and after your own blogging. Thanks for the comment.

  3. As someone who does read every tweet I missed every time I log on, repeat tweets bother me a bit…. but not enough for me to stop following someone. I understand completely why it’s being done, and I don’t resent it–as long as other content is being tweeted. I DO resent (and stop following) people who repeat tweet endlessly.

  4. I must say I agree fairly strongly with Patti. I have unfollowed people that consistently repeated their tweets. I always try to read all of the tweets I’ve missed, and find it extremely annoying if I see the same tweets over and over again from the same person.

    However, I’m also the type of person who gets frustrated when I notice someone I’m following does nothing but retweet others’ tweets. It becomes especially annoying when they almost always retweet from the same two or three individuals. If I am interested in what those individuals have to say, I will follow them. I don’t need you as a go-between, especially if you’re not offering any additional insight.

    That said, getting back to my original point, I agree with Patti. If the repeating is only done on occasion, and there are plenty of other tweets in between, it generally doesn’t bother me unless it becomes a major pattern.

  5. Retweeting is a tough call. I would agree with Rick, Patti, and OtherWebGuy.

    I have noticed GuyKawasaki’s repeat tweets and it hasn’t bothered me too much. I have actually taken on his example, but with my own twist, I repeat only the tweets that on the first go around seemed to generate interest. I spread out the repeats a bit more than GK. If a tweet is popular or generates some interest, I schedule it on CoTweet to be repeat tweeted over the weekend. I have noticed that there is a much different audience on the weekend than during the weekdays. It may not seem like a repeat tweet for the weekend tweeters.

  6. I posted on the wrong post, but I don’t generally repeat tweets unless it’s something I want actual feedback on. And even then, I’m always afraid of alienating people. But I’m guessing that Guy’s feedback on this is instructive, but seems to have more to do with him than I think it does with his content.

    I dunno.

Leave a Reply

