A close encounter with Twitter greatness

Until yesterday, I thought Jack Dorsey (one of the triumvirate of Twitter founders, better known as @jack in tweetdom) was just another new-media success story.

@jack, aka Twitter co-founder Jack Dorsey
@jack, aka Twitter co-founder Jack Dorsey
But that was before I learned, via St. Louis Post-Dispatch columnist Deb Peterson’s blog post, that he once attended the university where I work, Missouri S&T. He attended here in the ’90s, back when we were the University of Missouri-Rolla. He studied computer engineering here, and chances are great that we crossed paths on campus.

I’m embarrassed that I didn’t know about this connection previously. I’m doubly embarrassed that another university (Webster University, based in his hometown of St. Louis) will present him with a major award next week, instead of us.

The PR guy in me hates missed opportunities.

But maybe, now that I know Jack was a student here, I can work to reconnect our campus with him. According to at least two higher ed colleagues on Twitter, Jack is technically an alumnus of our university. One said so publicly, the other privately, via direct message.

Anyway, I am now one of @jack’s kabillion followers on Twitter. I hope to one day meet the man personally.

Congratulations, Mr. Dorsey, on your award from Webster University. I only wish we’d connected with you sooner.

P.S. – I’m glad to read that you’re still a St. Louis Cardinals fan.

Update: Jack Dorsey just gave a shout out to Missouri S&T, exposing our Twitter site to more potential views than most of our media relations efforts ever would.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “A close encounter with Twitter greatness”

  1. Great story, Andrew. Most schools I’ve dealt with these days claim alums of people who attended but didn’t graduate. I think this is a great opportunity, even if you’re just finding out now. :)

  2. I feel your pain. I just found out last week that a fairly prominent political figure — President of a major national party, and now a Canadian Senator — is not only an alumnus, but also a former board member. How it was never mentioned before baffles me.

  3. That’s awesome for Missouri S&T, and I have found the same problem. I have been an alumna of my university since 2006 and am just now finding out who some of our more prominent alumni are. It seems that some colleges and universities need to keep a closer eye on what their alumni are doing (which is why we fully support alumni associations use of social media!).

Leave a Reply

