Friday Five: personal best for 2009

I’m not gonna lie: I think I wrote some pretty decent blog posts in 2009. Since I’ve already ‘fessed up to my top turkeys of the past year, I’m going to now pat myself on the back and share what I believe are my best posts from 2009.

  1. The fall of U.S. higher ed and what to do about it, posted Oct. 22, 2009. This is my personal favorite, because it attempts to make sense of a systemic problem and gives me a chance to offer solutions that I have no earthly ability to implement, and therefore no responsibility for implementing. It’s always fun to say what ought to be done when it’s far beyond your own power to fix the problem. At least it is for me, because it takes my mind off of all the stuff I ought to be trying to fix that I can somehow affect.
  2. A two-part series on communications planning (3 simple questions for communicators and the follow-up, After who, what and how: testing, then tactics) seemed to resonate with a few of you. I’ve since been building on that post to create a brief document to share with our campus, and I might even turn it into an ebook to share with readers. Stay tuned.
  3. Media relations, taking the long view, and other lessons from Martin Luther King Jr. was a post I wrote last January and inspired by a re-reading of a book by Philip Yancey called Soul Survivor: How My Faith Survived the Church. Weird, I know. But if you read the post I think you’ll see the connection with higher ed, PR and marketing.
  4. Mediamorphosis: shrinking newspapers, converging networks was a post I wrote last March in response to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch‘s latest resizing of its dead-tree edition. In it, I pull from Clay Shirky, John C. Dvorak and other people smarter than me to make me sound smarter than I am.
  5. Friday Five: Zen and the art of being productive (or not), from last February, was my attempt to explain how I manage a crapflood of stuff day by day.

Whether these are among your favorite posts, I thank you for reading this blog. And if you blog, I hope you’ll undertake a similar exercise. What were your favorites of 2009? Why?

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: personal best for 2009”

  1. I loved the flashbacks, Andy. You had a good year. #1 was indeed my favorite, maybe #2 was the one where you were named International Brandmaster or some such. ;)

Leave a Reply

