Quiet leadership

Being an introvert (yeah, I know; that fact surprises a lot of people), I am happy to see pieces like this Forbes.com article by Jennifer B. Kahnweiler on the leadership traits of introverts. (Hat tip to @patmcraw and @thehrgoddess for sharing this article via Twitter.)

I suspect that many of the great bloggers and twitterers I’ve met — virtually and otherwise — also tend to be introverted and may share some of the five leadership traits Kahnweiler describes. And even if you aren’t an introvert, maybe after reading this you’ll have a bit more compassion for those of us who aren’t always the loudest voices in the room.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “Quiet leadership”

  1. I caught this article a few days ago. I’m definitely in the extrovert camp, but I’ve been trying to cultivate these traits the last few years. They’re serving me well. I think of these things as tools in my personality toolkit. Sometimes you need to be careful and thoughtful. Other times, you need to be bold and in control.

  2. Andrew, thanks for sharing this article. I share some of the characteristics. I’m somewhere in the middle on the continuum between introvert and extrovert. Unfortunately, sometimes others view quiet confidence and listening as a weakness or lack of leadership strength. It’s good to see these traits pointed out as strengths.

  3. Sarah – Good plan to cultivate traits of other personality preferences. I’ve been trying to cultivate the positive extrovert traits to improve my ability to communicate and exude confidence. As for “bold and in control,” I agree that there are times for that. Far too often, however, from my perspective people come off as “bold and out of control.” :) #justsayin

    Rick – Thanks for your take on this article. A couple of years ago I took an in-depth Myers-Briggs type indicator study which showed that I am a strong extrovert when it comes to introducing people and social gatherings, but introverted much of the rest of the time. It was an interesting revelation for me, because it was right on. I guess the point it made to me was that even within personality types, there are nuances — and not everyone is an extrovert or an introvert all the time, or wants to be.

Leave a Reply

