Twitter faves: all the rave

It seems the Twitter favorites function is rapidly replacing Delicious as a bookmarking utility for me and several of my fellow Twitter users. (If the idea of “favoriting” a tweet is new to you, here’s a primer on the favorites function.)

Twitter-faves-AC

Back in the days before I became so addicted to relied so heavily on Twitter, I would post useful, interesting or bloggable links to my Delicious site. But I haven’t done that since January. Worse, I haven’t added any links to my blog-fodder category since last August. (That’s how I’d tag stuff I’d discover that I found worthy of a future blog post. Now I’ve got 91 items languishing there, and I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get around to blogging about any of them anytime soon.)

These days, I use my Twitter favorites category to bookmark sites for later reading.

Twitter-faves

A lot of my fellow tweeters do, too. @MasonDyer has amassed 618 favorites as of Tuesday. (“Hoarders” episode, anyone?) @nathanayres, @DebraSanborn and @mikepetroff all collect links with their favorites function. Even Delicious Super User Mark Greenfield, whose social-bookmarking prowess was the subject of a post on this blog last September, uses Twitter to store links that he later transfers to his Delicious site. This leads Mike Petroff to wonder whether a web app exists that synchronizes Twitter favorites to Delicious.

Sounds like a web app whose time has come. I wish Mike (or someone) would build it. I would use it. It’s just too bad the name Twitterlicious is already taken. Twitter favorites + Delicious bookmarks sounds Twitterlicious to me.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

7 thoughts on “Twitter faves: all the rave”

  1. I’m working with an awesome developer right now on another Twitter web app project, but I would live to see a Twitter + Delicious web app happen. Delicious API calls to Twitter for favorites feed, pulls tweets, links, auto-guesses tags, and saves to your delicious account. Compares against delicious account to not re-import previously pulled favorited tweets. Please, anyone?

    Tweetlicious is parked on GoDaddy :(

  2. Ah – just read a review about Packarati.us and isn’t quite what we’re talking about, but it’s close. Packarati apparently pulls all your links into a Delicious feed, not just your favorites. I post a lot of links that I don’t necessarily favorite, so this wouldn’t work for me. But it might work for others.

  3. Are favorited tweets easily searchable? That would be the down side for me. And they can’t be tagged, either, so you can’t pull “bookmarks” for specific tags like you can with Delicious. You could import Twitter favorites into FriendFeed (I do), which would make them searchable. FriendFeed’s future is a bit uncertain, though.

    I’m still using Delicious, and just joined Diigo, which feeds stuff into Delicious, so I’d love to see a Twitter favorites-to-Delicious (or Diigo) app, too.

    BTW, if you are into vanity searches, go to http://favstar.fm and see which of your tweets have been favorited by others.

  4. Awesome idea, Andrew. I still like the organizational capabilities of Delicious, but I just don’t maintain it as often as I’d like and often find myself referring back to tweets for links. The Twitter Favorites function slipped past my radar-thanks for the great suggestion.

Leave a Reply

