Happy Birthday, Twitter (and personal Twitter timeline)

Twitter turns 4 years old today. Hard to believe that this social network that has become so much a part of my online life has only been around for four years. For a bit of nostalgia, check out the video news report below, created in March 2007, when Twitter was just a year old.


(Via @scobleizer)

My personal Twitter timeline:

Sept. 30, 2007 – I create my personal Twitter account, @andrewcareaga, and announce it on this blog.

Dec. 22, 2007 – I create @MissouriSandT as what I then called a university “outpost” on Twitter. Today, our little outpost has 823 followers and is on 52 Twitter lists.

Feb. 27, 2008 – I ask, Should universities tweet? It’s funny now, two-plus years later, to look back at the question and the responses.

July 27, 2008 – I post my thousandth tweet and blog about it as though it were somehow meaningful.

Nov. 11, 2009 – I dive into the discussion on whether or not it’s OK for universities (or other organizations) to simply push news and other institutional information through their Twitter feeds. In other words, whether it’s OK to be a “robot” on Twitter instead of being a human. I come down firmly on the side of the borg.

March 18, 2010 – My post Twitter faves: all the rave marks the 84th post on this blog to be filed under the Twitter category. This post is No. 85.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Twitter (and personal Twitter timeline)”

  1. 4 years old already. It seems like Twitter is only a couple years old, in terms of mass popularity. I really like your personal Twitter timeline – 1,000 tweets is a fairly big accomplishment. Kind of lets others know that you are going to stay awhile on Twitter. What are you going to do for your upcoming 10,000 tweet?

  2. Liz – Thanks for the kinds words. I think “pioneer” is probably too strong a term, though. “Early adopter,” maybe — at least in the higher ed marketing sector.

    Travis – I haven’t thought about the 10,000th tweet yet, but I guess I’d better do so, and soon. I’m at tweet No. 9,863 now. ;)

Leave a Reply

