Twitter to the rescue (or, How I became a junior firefighter)

It was one of those mornings. A lot of interruptions, “urgent” calls for assistance, endless email loops, petty irritations, administrivia — all the stuff that sucks the productivity out of the day. You know those kind of days, right?

So I did what any passive-aggressive, digitally connected marketer would do. I vented my frustration to the twitterverse:

firetweet-1

And the twitterverse, in the form of @smith_ron_e, responded:

firetweet-2

@smith_ron_e is the Twitter handle of Ron Smith, the training officer for Rolla Fire and Rescue. Ron is also an avid social media fan and, like any good firefighter, always on the alert.

I didn’t think any more about Ron’s tweet. But that afternoon, he showed up at my office with several “junior firefighter” helmets for me and others on our staff.

And that’s how I became a junior firefighter.

FireMarshallAC

Thank you, Ron. You (and Twitter) brought some joy into an otherwise frustrating day. And you also reminded me that the figurative “fires” I deal with from time to time are no match for the life-threatening conflagrations you and your fellow firefighters have to respond to. I tip my junior firefighter’s hat to you.

(Photo by B.A. Rupert.)

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

1 thought on “Twitter to the rescue (or, How I became a junior firefighter)”

  1. Isn’t the power of Twitter wonderful? I think we could all use one of those junior fire fighter hats in our office. Many a day I could wear that as comic relief.

Leave a Reply

