Friday Five: Goodbye to all that edition

Guess what, readers? It’s the final Friday of 2011, so I bet you can guess what’s coming: A year-end list of five things about … something. Yep. You’re on to me.

For the final Friday Five of 2011, I present to you my list of:

Five things I wish would go away in 2012, but probably won’t

1. Collegiate sports scandals. Seriously. We’ve seen enough in 2011. I long for the day when I can read the sports page just for stories about last night’s games and not child molestation, grand jury indictments and NCAA rules violations.

2. The higher ed humblebrag. The humblebrag creeps up all the time on my Twitter and Facebook timelines. It’s the act of “[s]ubtly letting others now about how fantastic your life is while undercutting it with a bit of self-effacing humor or ‘woe is me’ gloss.” Harris Wittels writes a terrific monthly column about humblebragging on Grantland, where his focus is mainly on celebrity humblebrags, of which there are many. But the humblebrag bug has bitten higher ed, too. None of us are immune from it. I’ve bragged about speaking gigs, people I’ve met and other bits of awesomeness, often with the requisite self-deprecation. As Wittels writes, the need to brag “is ingrained in us and our desire to be validated,” and while “humblebragging is annoying … it is less annoying than just bragging.” So if you must brag in social media, keep it humble.

3. Celebrity Twitter nonsense. From Charlie Sheen’s #winning antics to Ashton Kutcher’s clueless support of Joe Paterno (must be something in the water on the set of Two and a Half Men), to Alec Baldwin’s snarks about American Airlines, celebrities turned microblogging into high-profile buffoonery. And while we’re at it, let’s get rid of the children of celebrities, like Wayne Gretzky’s daughter Paulina, who got in trouble for posting racy, MySpace-esque photos on Twitter, forcing her to delete her account. Oh. Wait. Maybe not.

4. Facebook. Yes, I know quitting Facebook would be like quitting air. Impossible. But I’m going to try to limit my interaction on the world’s biggest social network to wishing friends a happy birthday. Wish me luck.

5. Bloggers’ year-end lists. Enough said?

What about you? What would you like to see less of in 2012?

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

6 thoughts on “Friday Five: Goodbye to all that edition”

  1. Uh-oh. Guilty of year-end lists. What a wonderful way to close out Friday Five in 2011–thanks for the uplifting start to Friday. I am SO with you on #1. I almost hate saying I’m associated w/higher ed athletics anymore–it’s embarrassing. I am also w/you on Facebook. I am shuffling Facebook time wasted to Google+ time wasting and keeping a minimal presence on Facebook. In 2012, I would also like to see the end of the BCS–I know it ain’t gonna happen, but I can only wish. I figure that may end the endless, mindless shuffling of conference alignments and evaporation of treasured rivalries, such as KU-Mizzou.

  2. Couldn’t help but share an article I read recently in regards to #2 and #4.

    “Facebook is making us miserable” -http://blogs.hbr.org/cs/2011/12/facebook_is_making_us_miserabl.html

  3. Chris – I still haven’t spent much time on G+ yet. I’m also with you on conference realignments. Regional Distinctions (Big East, Pac 10, etc.) have lost all meaning. Mizzou is not in the southeastern U.S. It just isn’t.

    Brandon – Great share. That HBR article is spot on. Facebook’s “den of comparison” is poison.

    David – Fair enough. ;)

    Thanks, all, for your comments.

Leave a Reply

