National Grammar Day 2013: Sound off, fellow curmudgeons

Click the image to send a National Grammar Day ecard.
Click the image to send a National Grammar Day greeting to your friends.

Today is National Grammar Day, a day for me and my fellow armchair grammarians to gripe about how our language is routinely butchered and bludgeoned, sometimes beyond recognition.

If you need proof, just take a look at your Twitter or Facebook timeline and count how many errors you find in spelling and syntax, and all the misuses of “Your” for “You’re” or “too” for “to,” and vice versa.

In honor of this national event, I thought I’d ask my fellow grammar nerds and curmudgeons to share their pet peeves. To get things started, here’s one of mine:

The misuse of subject pronouns as objects

Ugh. I can’t stand hearing or seeing otherwise educated people use a subject pronoun as the object (as in “Just between you and I, grammar is a dumb thing to celebrate”).

That’s wrong. That sentence should read, “Just between you and me, grammar is a dumb thing to celebrate.” That’s because the objects of that sentence are the pronouns “you and me.” I guess we’re used to seeing the subjects at the beginning of a sentence, but the example I’m sharing here is an exception. Grammar Girl explains this whole subject-verb-object issue better than I (not “better than me,” which is a whole other topic). Check out her recent post and podcast, I Love You: A Subject-Object Valentine.

So, tell me, fellow grammar geeks: What are your pet grammar peeves?

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “National Grammar Day 2013: Sound off, fellow curmudgeons”

Leave a Reply

