Fiddling with Feedly as a Google Reader alternative

Soon after Google announced it was giving Google Reader the axe, I looked around for alternatives. It didn’t take long to find one, thanks to Nick Denardis, who recommended Feedly.

I’ve been experimenting with Feedly since late March. And like Nick, I ask myself why I didn’t make the switch from Google Reader sooner. It’s a nice interface and neatly imported all the feeds from Google Reader for me.

What about you? What is your go-to RSS reader now that Google Reader is on the way out? If you’re a Google Reader aficionado, you only have until the end of this month to make a switch.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

7 thoughts on “Fiddling with Feedly as a Google Reader alternative”

  1. I’ve been using theoldreader.com on my pc. It’s very similar to Google Reader and was an easy switch. I’m using Feedly on my mobile device and really enjoying it. Maybe I’ll have to switch again to Feedly on my PC!

  2. I’m using “The Old Reader.” As pretty as a lot of the new image-based readers (like Feedly) are, a lot of the blogs I subscribe to don’t focus on imagery so the interface was clunky. I wanted a nice, boring list, so The Old Reader works for me.

  3. I wish Google Reader was still around, but Feedly works just as well for now. It was a very easy transition. I’ve also been moving the blogs that are most important for me to read to my Inbox. Easier phone interface.

Leave a Reply

