Not exactly tumblrin’ for ya

Happy birthday, abandoned tumblr!
Happy birthday, abandoned tumblr!

Have you ever created a thing in the social media space, more or less on a whim, or just because you thought it was the thing to do, and then promptly forget all about it?

That’s what happened with me and my tumblr account.

I had completely forgotten I had created a tumblr.

Then I got an email Tuesday from the tumblr people to let me know that, while I was busy doing other things, my tumblr had celebrated birthday number 4.

This is why I don’t have children.

Five posts. Five posts in four years. What a pathetic tumblrer I’ve been. (Is that what one calls a person who has a tumblr? A tumblrer?)

I really should have remembered I have a tumblr account, because I documented its creation in a blog post (written four years ago). This act of creation is noted in a humble little P.S. at the end of a rambling post about the next big thing in social media.

P.S. – I just created a Tumblr account. Maybe that’s the next big thing. For me, anyway.

Well, that didn’t work out so well for me.

But now tumblr has gone big time — and not just for memes or picture-quotes. Brands have taken to tumblr recently, and at least 10 of them are doing it right (according to Mashable). Some colleges and universities are also using tumblr now.

Which makes me wonder. Should I?

When I wrote my Next Big Thing post, the “blogging is dead” idea was all the rage. But for me, it’s still very much alive, despite occasional bouts of blog fatigue.

I don’t quite see a fit for tumblr in my digital media diet right now. I’m not sure I ever will.

How about you? What purpose does tumblr serve in your digital life?

P.S. – It’s kind of funny to read the comments on that Next Big Thing post. One even suggests that Posterous is the new tumblr. And Todd Sanders still believes that flying cars will soon be in vogue.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

3 thoughts on “Not exactly tumblrin’ for ya”

  1. Tumblr was recently purchased by Yahoo. It is already changing for the worse.
    I am aware of tumblr, but don’t use it. I’m on everything else……

  2. It’s a fine platform, but Tumblr serves no purpose in my digital life, personally. I started using Tumblr in April of 2008 and killed it in March of 2009. Yes, I searched my Gmail for this info… ha. I used it primarily for sharing content created by others, which is what most people use it for today. I became a huge fan of Posterous when it first came out but, well, we all know how that ended up. At least we know nothing will happen to Posthaven because of their pledge.

    Again, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with Tumblr and brands should consider using it if they deem it right for them. Going forward, writers who focus more on text are more likely to use something like Medium, I think. Quora is also interesting.

    Like you say, there’s only so much room in the digital media diet and I’m overwhelmed enough as it is.

Leave a Reply

