2013 social media predictions: a spotty record

crystalballgirlLast March 1, a full two months into 2013, I stuck my neck out and made some bold social media predictions for the remainder of the year. Now, as I look in the rear-view mirror of 2013, I see a pretty spotty record of prognostication. A lesser blogger might choose to ignore the fact that his predictions did not all hit the mark. Not me. I’m all about transparency. So here’s a review of how well my predictions fared.

1. What social media channel do you feel is primed to grow its audience base the most in 2013?

I suggested that Instagram would be the fastest-growing social media channel. And wouldn’t you know it: I was right! It says so right here. So, score a point for me to take the early lead.

2. Which social media channel may disappear in 2013?

I wrote that none would disappear completely, noting that: “I still get occasional emails from hi5, which I haven’t used in ages, so apparently someone is still out there.” I added that I didn’t think the new Myspace would have much traction in 2013. Apparently, I was wrong. Myspace reported a 50 percent growth from January through September.

Score tied, 1-1.

3. What is the one social media behavior you would like to see more of in 2013?

I voted for the #humblebrag. “Done well,” I wrote, “the humblebrag is a wonderful bit of hubris and snark. It’s the act of ‘[s]ubtly letting others now about how fantastic your life is while undercutting it with a bit of self-effacing humor or “woe is me” gloss.'” I don’t know of any Internet measurement firm that tracks the rise and fall of the humblebrag, but I know of at least one commentator who wishes the humblebrag would die.

I declare this one a draw.

4. What social media behavior needs to stop?

“LinkedIn endorsements,” I wrote. “What is the point? [humblebrag]Hey, I really do appreciate all the nice endorsements about my expertise in blogging, social media, media relations and strategic communications[/humblebrag]. But unless I can include those endorsements in my annual review and parlay them into a big fat raise, they don’t really do much for me. Please tell me if I’m missing something here.”

There appears to be no retreat to the LinkedIn endorsement. Another point against me.

5. What is your best advice for a brand to connect with its audience one-on-one?

Here I agreed with Rohit Bhargava, whose tweet inspired my March 1 post. “I think it still comes down to being human,” he said. “It does require a stronger focus on creating a real voice for all communications. It also takes a deeper understanding of customer questions and how you can answer them.”

On this point, if we can all stay human, then we all win.

*****

So, there you have my scorecard for 2013 social media predictions. How about you? Did you make any predictions for 2013? If so, how did they turn out?

Photo: Crystal Ball by Anurag Agnihotri via Flickr.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

2 thoughts on “2013 social media predictions: a spotty record”

Leave a Reply

