Pinterest: My blind spot

pinterest-pinboard-600I just don’t get Pinterest.

Maybe I haven’t given it a fair shake.

No. Scratch that. I know I haven’t given it a fair shake. I don’t know why, either.

I’m not a Pinterest hater. I don’t want to be like those Twitter haters who say, “I don’t want to tweet about what I’m having for lunch. Who cares?” (The Pinterest equivalent: “Who cares if I pin my recipe for spinach enchiladas?”) I know — intellectually, at least — that there’s more to Pinterest than recipe exchanges, just as there’s more to Twitter than discussing lunch.

But I haven’t taken the Pinterest plunge.

Maybe it has to do with timing. Pinterest arrived on the scene at about the same time as a bad case of social media overload. It happened right about the same time I decided to create a Quora account. (Which is something that makes even less sense to me than Pinterest.) Part of me doesn’t want to wade into yet another social media environment that I don’t have time for.

I get that Pinterest is a valid social media environment, and that colleges and universities are using it as another way to connect with audiences. And according to this post, I shouldn’t overlook its value as a marketing tool.

So maybe it’s time to give Pinterest another look. (I do have a Pinterest account of my very own. But as you’ll discover if you click the link, there’s nothing to see there.)

Maybe you Pinterest fans can convince me in the comments.

Author: andrewcareaga

Higher ed PR and marketing guy. Communications director for Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) in Rolla, Missouri, USA. Slow runner, mediocre guitarist, lover of music and puns, and an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan. I blog and Tweet about #highered, #music, #gocards and #random stuff.

2 thoughts on “Pinterest: My blind spot”

  1. Exactly the thoughts of many social media managers about not only Pinterest, but anything beyond Twitter and Facebook. It all takes time–that might be what you consider your “blind spot.” And necessity. I think we all have to answer the question about how to use our time, money, and people wisely. Peer pressure, my man. You’ll be successful when and if you decide that it matters for YOUR school.

  2. I have wrestled with the same issue. What images can you “pin” on Pinterest (as a university)that wouldn’t come across as blatant attempts at marketing? I haven’t yet figured that one out. I have a personal Pinterest account through which I enjoy pinning or repinning aesthetically appealing content (colors, textures, interior design, cool photos), things that inspire me, make me smile, or make me LMAO. I suppose if I really tried to tap into my creative side, I might be able to “translate” my personal approach to Pinterest into a professional one.

Leave a Reply

